A First Post

I’m starting up a blog! About a year ago, I blogged a few times over at posterous, which has sadly gone away (along with all of the posts).

A few observations have led me to start a blog. First, random thoughts or ideas seem to get lost in memory unless I write them down. I’ve also seen that putting ideas into words opens the opportunity for refinement and critique; things may make sense ‘in my head’, but writing an idea can reveal gaps, or invite a response. Revealing knowledge gaps is especially important when learning something new; being able to concisely articulate a new idea can be a major step in learning. Also, someone else may find it useful to read!

Well, that was wonderfully abstract: I suppose the rest of the posts will be making the above more concrete.

My first goal is to make at least two blog posts per month.

Leave a Reply

